The sky is falling!

09/16/2008 at 5:35 pm (thoughts)

Have you been paying attention to the headlines lately?

Hurricane Gustav is the “storm of the century!”

Those who do not flee Hurricane Ike will face “certain death!!”

The DOW crashed 500 points in one day!!! We are headed towards another Great Depression!!!!

I for one am getting rather sick and tired of all the Chicken Littles of the world.

News isn’t news anymore, it’s entertainment. And as such they have to make it as sensational as possible.

I try so hard not to pay any attention. But that is very hard to do when it is constantly being trumpeted in your face every waking hour.

5 Comments

  1. doulamuse said,

    I hear ya!

  2. mrsabbott said,

    I might have agreed with you about the hurricane before we moved here. Now that I live in an area where that sort of weather CAN effect me personally, I see where the “doom and gloom” mentality comes from.
    And I do think that the financial state of our country is noteworthy simply because it does effect us.. perhaps not directly (although, we do have some retirement investments) but there will be that whole domino effect. Unemployment rate, tax hikes, rising costs of.. everything. Sigh.
    I think that the majority of Americans are freaking out because they are dependent on others for their survival.

    But I do agree that news stations do seem to like to make mountains out of molehills on occasion. At least they aren’t broadcasting about the latest antics of Britney Spears or Paris Hilton! Bleh.

  3. Nick Wright said,

    I wasn’t making light of the seriousness of the various situations.

    Rather I was lamenting how our modern news media sensationalizes everything.

    Ever heard of a psychosomatic plague?

    In other words my point was:

    [25] Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment?
    [26] Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they?
    [27] Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature?
    [28] And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin:
    [29] And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.
    [30] Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith?
    [31] Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed?
    [32] (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.
    [33] But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.
    [34] Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.”- Matthew 6

    :D Be well!

  4. Clair Schwan said,

    Good Saturday Morning my new friends:

    You’ve hit onto one of my favorite topics – the TV mania in this country (and I’ll throw in the rest of the mass media as well). You’re right, it’s primarily entertainment. Whether it’s money, disasters, celebrities, war, disease or whatever, the whole focus is entertainment – keep your eyes glued here!

    I’ve been accused of promoting ignorance when I say that I don’t watch TV, listen to the radio or read the newspaper. It has been more than 10 years since I have had television service in my home. I have never subscribed to a newspaper, and I’m not a radio listener at all.

    I just can’t stand the bombardment of commercial advertising and someone else telling me (sometimes in a subtle manner) what my opinions should be and what I should be afraid of. The talking heads are an intrusion into my peaceful life that I just won’t allow.

    If there is something really important to know, I’ll hear about it from someone else, see it coming on the horizon, or already be prepared for it. And, there are so many other “cleaner” sources of information around that are much more concise, and available at my convenience.

    The main point I want to make is why bother with all that info-tainment when we rarely do anything about what we see and hear? I’m not running for cover or dizzy in panic. I’m not withdrawing my money. I’m not doing anything different. Is anyone else?

    (By the way, thanks for listing my site in “Our Recent Bookmarks”. I am honored by your recognition of my efforts to promote a frugal, self-sufficient, abundant and peaceful life. I’m linking to your site today as a way of saying thanks. You’ll be part of my Ideas for Frugal Living page.)

    For a detailed discussion of this issue of TV and media, I welcome you to view my page about our TV addiction in this country. It can be found at: http://www.frugal-living-freedom.com/TV-addiction.html

    Good fortune to you both,

    Clair

  5. mrsabbott said,

    Do you remember the Y2K panic?? LOL! I was almost a little disappointed that nothing happened! I remember people were so freaked out about it, too… like it was going to be the end of the world.

    No, I agree that the media sensationalizes things.. some news media moreso then others. But I do keep up with current events and think it’s important to do so. I follow the hurricanes closely because of where we live. I follow the war closely because my husband is fighting in it. I follow the election closely because who becomes the next President will greatly change the country we live in.. in many, many ways.

    No, I think it is prudent to watch closely the happenings in the world but I completely agree that we should not worry.. for no matter what happens it is the Lord who is ultimately in control.

    There is a line in a song that I often repeat to myself that was inspired by the very scriptures you listed above:

    “God has always taken care of nature’s every need, and how much more important in the Father’s eyes are we?”

    :) Very good reminder!

Leave a Reply

