More on the chicks

10/13/2008 at 8:24 am (home)

Was starting to get a little concerned about what I was going to do for the chicks when they need to be outside. But a neighbor has an old chicken coop, and they said if we take it down we can have it.

I was really hoping to keep it in the shape that it is, but there’s enough of it that’s rotted that I think my disassembly will make it impossible to put back exactly the way it was. But that’s okay, I’ve got a set of really simple plans I sketched out the other night, and I’ll be able to use the good lumber from theirs to make mine.

On another note, another friend of ours told us that people claim you can sex a chick just by turning it upside down. If they clutch their feet up to their body, it’s a pullet (female). And if they stretch their legs far out from their body, it’s a rooster.

So this morning I had to clean out the brooder so we moved the chicks into a temporary holding area (dog crate) and I turned them each over as I did so.

If our friend’s method is correct we have nine girls and one rooster. Which, coincidentally (or maybe not), is exactly what I was hoping we had.

When you buy chicks at the store like we did, they’re supposed to be all pullets, but oftentimes that is not the case. So I was really kind of hoping that we’d have one rooster in the bunch. There are a couple reasons. The first being that a rooster will protect his girls. He will keep his eye out for threats and sound the alarm sending the girls to cover if he sees anything. I believe they will also fight to protect the hens if necessary, but I suppose that depends on the individual rooster.

I can’t believe how fast they’re growing! Usually when you have an animal, you don’t really notice the difference in size until one day you think, “wow, they used to be so tiny!”

But these chicks are growing!

3 Comments

  1. mrsabbott said,

    I saw something about sexing chickens on tv once.. They squeezed the poop out of the babies by pushing on their little behinds and then turned them upside down to see if they had some kind of bump.. I hadn’t heard the feet thing before. It will be interesting to see if your method is correct! :)

    I’m looking forward to seeing more chicken pics and reading about your experience with them!

  2. Sunshine said,

    I have a small chain link dog kennel that you would be welcome to borrow if you’d like. (Our dog outgrew it)

  3. Clair Schwan of Frugal Living Freedom said,

    My chickens are behind a chain link fence. It works well as long as it is 6 feet high, otherwise predators can hop over it, and so can the chickens.

    Be aware that a rooster may get very aggressive towards you. They can be a real pain. Some are absolutely fearless and they won’t care how much you bat them around, they keep coming at you.

    Clair

Leave a Reply

