One fine cold day

10/23/2008 at 6:15 pm (work)

Today was cold. It was in the 30s this morning and it hasn’t gotten much warmer since.

We have officially moved into the kitchen and I’m sitting here next to the woodstove. It’s a crackling and I’m toasty warm. I love that wood heat! I love its smell. I love how it makes me really feel warm. There just isn’t any heat like it, no other heat makes me feel warm like this.

Anyway, today is Thursday. Which is farmer’s market day. I’ve always wanted to have something to sell at the farmer’s market, but never have.

Until today. Today was our first day selling at the market. And we did better than I thought we would do, especially considering the weather.

Our pear tree has been going nuts, and Noel’s been putting up every single bit of pear she can and we still have pear going to waste. So we figured we’d load some up and see about selling some of them.

Here I am picking some pears.

And here’s Noel picking some.

We picked for about an hour and then spent from 2:30 till 5 at the market.

And here’s our little setup shortly before we went on home. Yes, we cheated and borrowed a friend’s pickup. The weather was just too much to want to be out riding in for an extended period of time.

So we had fun with our little farmer’s market experiment, and I’m very excited for next year when hopefully we can grown a little more than we need and bring that to sell too.

1 Comment

  1. mrsabbott said,

    Oooh, to be sitting in front of a warm, crackling fire… I was thrilled that it was down to 59 degrees today and I got to wear long sleeves!

    And how wonderful that the farmer’s market is still open there! Ours only seems to last a couple of months in the summer. I had hoped to see someone selling jack o’ lantern pumpkins (our lone fairytale pumpkin is pretty but not good for carving) but no luck.

    Those pears look wonderful! I’m not a huge fan of pears, but I had one off the tree before and it’s a whole other world compared to the store bought pears. The first pie I ever made from scratch was a pear pie with a walnut crust. It was delicious!

Leave a Reply

