Life goes on

11/10/2008 at 9:57 am (home)

It’s been life as usual here at the Wright Acre.

Last night found Milo warming his belly by the wood stove!

bellywarmingAlso yesterday we helped a neighbor butcher another turkey. Then afterward I came home and worked at taking the old coop apart some more.

takingdownthecoopThose chicks are growing up so fast! They’ll be ready for the coop in the next couple of weeks. Lord willing, I’ll be getting the few pieces of new lumber I’ll need this week and I can start working on putting the coop back together again!

We’ve been heating with the wood stove for the past week or so. And we used it all last winter. But for one reason or another we never really tried cooking on it. And last night I realized that that is really ridiculous. To have this great fire going in a stove with a small cooktop and not to use it for cooking!

So this morning we decided that we’d cook my eggs on it!

woodstovecookingAnd it worked much better that I had imagined.

We’ve made some half-hearted attempts at cooking on it before, but I guess we just weren’t getting it hot enough. Cause these eggs cooked very nicely and didn’t take long at all.

So from now on, we’ll be cooking on this whenever we can.

We’re supposed to be getting rain today. And looking at the radar it is very slow moving so it looks like it’ll be around for a while. Thankfully, I don’t have to go to work today. So I reckon we’ll finish taking down the cabinets here in the living room/kitchen.

After that we’ll start taking off the trim in here. Whoever put the trim up didn’t do it right. But soon we’ll cover the walls with joint compound so that we can paint them so they don’t look like the mobile home paneling they are now.

Next spring we’ll move the stove and hearth out and put down some new flooring. I’m not sure which, but I’m leaning heavily towards that laminate stuff. It looks fairly nice, and they say it lasts forever.

Anyway, time to sign off for now. See y’all later!

~Nick

2 Comments

  1. Brenda said,

    I cooked on our wood stove all last winter, and loved it. It felt great to be depriving the greedy utility companies of some money;-) I could simmer soups and stews all day, for free! I cooked everything from boiled eggs to pancakes. You can also keep a pot of warm water on the stove for doing dishes, or just to add some humidity to the air, since wood stoves can make the air dry.

    Sounds like you have some challenging home renovation projects coming up! I’d love to see some pictures of the process, and maybe some more videos. I’m enjoying your blog, bye for now.

  2. mrsabbott said,

    Looks wonderful!! :) I told Gabe that when we have our own house someday we have to either have a woodburning fireplace or a woodstove. :) A woodstove would be nice though, because you have that cooking option.

Leave a Reply

