Upset tummy tea

11/11/2008 at 9:04 am (animals, food, herbs)

This morning Milo (our dog) woke up with a stomach ache. Usually I give him a little bit of pepto bismol, if I can catch him. He hates the pink stuff! I figured if we’re trying to find more natural things for us to take for ailments, why not him. So, I grabbed a book I’m borrowing from a friend called Country Wisdom and Know-how and looked up to see what kinds of recipes it had for dogs. I noticed the book had some really good simple herbal recipes for animals and was pleased when I had all the ingredients. It called for peppermint, ground cloves and ground ginger. 1-2 teaspoons 3 times a day. Since he’s so small, I gave him 1 teaspoon and he actually seemed to like it! It’s basically made like tea and I have to wonder if it won’t work on humans too. I think I’ll try it before I reach for a peppermint candy to soothe a stomach ache.

The recipe: Take one cup of water and bring to a rolling boil. Add 1 teaspoon dried peppermint, 1 pinch of ground cloves, 1 pinch of ground ginger. Turn off heat and steep for 10-15 minutes. Store leftovers in the refrigerator for 2 days. 1-2 teaspoons, 3 times a day.

2 Comments

  1. Sunshine said,

    Poor Milo, I hope he feels better soon. It’s no fun being sick! :(

  2. Miriam said,

    Hi Noel
    Interesting tea recipe! We use dilluted peppermint oil for ourselves and our animals, simply rub it on the belly in a circular movement.
    I am sure you could make your own oil if you are thus inclined.
    Good luck!
    Miriam

Leave a Reply

