Scythe

11/12/2008 at 7:43 pm (work)

I finally got my scythe in the mail today!

newscythe

I am disappointed, however, in that it turns out I have to have wood glue to assemble the thing. And wouldn’t you know it? I have no wood glue!

I can’t wait to get it put together and out in my “pasture.”

I’ve waited too long to mow back there as it is. And it’ll be a chore. But now that I have a proper tool, I can keep it mowed properly. Next year mowing should be a breeze.

People will think I’m crazy. But it’s the same thing as with the axe. The scythe is a witty invention for me. The power mower is a witty invention for the folks to whom I pay my hard-earned money in order to use their “time-saver.”

Plus I intend to cut most if not all the hay I need for my livestock myself. In fact, a neighbor has a couple acres behind our houses that he pays to have mowed every so often. Maybe he’ll let me lease the land to cut hay.

PS- In case you’re wondering I purchased this wonderful tool from The Marugg Company.

2 Comments

  1. Brenda said,

    I’m excited for you! My son is also very interested in scythes and when I did some online research for him, awhile back, I found this website:

    SCYTHE SUPPLY: PERRY, MAINE
    http://www.scythesupply.com/articles.htm

    It might offer some additional “how-to” information for you.

    Brenda

  2. Ginny said,

    I am desperately wanting a scythe, too. But, it is down on the list of things to save for. I’m glad you got one. I hope you get many years of good use out of it.
    :-D

Leave a Reply

