I am in love

11/15/2008 at 9:25 pm (home)

I’ve been taking the scythe out to mow whenever I can. I’ve spent maybe 30 minutes total the last two days cutting grass over the past two days.

And I am in love.

There are certain tools that a fellow just falls in love with, and this scythe is definitely one of them.

I still have quite a ways to go as far as learning how to use the thing. And the grass being laid down and matted together from having waited too long to cut it is very hard to cut. But I love cutting with the scythe.

I love that I am cutting grass into straw and not spending any money for fuel. I love that the only “fumes” I smell are the faint whiffs of linseed oil from the handle. I love that the only sound is the swooshing of the blade through the grass.

I should have bought one of these years ago.

PS- To see what a scythe can do in competent hands, check out this YouTube video!

2 Comments

  1. Sunshine said,

    Is a scythe and a sickle the same?

  2. Nick Wright said,

    No, a scythe has a long blade and handle meant to be used while standing upright.

    A sickle has a much smaller handle and blade.

    Here’s a picture of a sickle:
    http://www.themaruggcompany.com/detail_sickle.htm

Leave a Reply

