Chicken tractor

12/05/2008 at 7:20 pm (home)

chickentractor1I’ve been working my tail off at completing the chicken tractor for the hens.

The photo above was taken tonight about the time it got too dark to work.

I was going to build a permanent coop and let the girls roam during the day. But we’ve got a few problems with roaming livestock in this neighborhood (guineas and hogs actually), and I don’t want to be a nuisance with my animals. So I decided instead to build a chicken tractor.

I searched and searched and must have looked at hundreds of photos. I even purchased some really nice  plans from this fellow. But I was disappointed in that most tractor plans only allow for a small number of birds (3-5). I have 10 and I wasn’t real happy about the idea of getting rid of any of them.

So I ended up just drawing my own plans. I decided upon an a-frame design. The upper half will be the coop with nest boxes and roost and the lower half will be a wire-enclosed run.

The base dimensions are 5 by 8-feet. There is a ramp leading from the coop to the run which will have a rope leading to the outside of the tractor so that it can be raised at night when all the birds are inside.

I’ll have some more photos when it’s completed and the hens have moved in!

4 Comments

  1. Brenda said,

    I like your chicken tractor design. It actually helps to see it only partially finished. At least your weather allows you to still work on it and use it, but it’s bitterly cold here and we’re expecting lots of snow this week. I hope the little critters appreciate all of your hard work!

  2. Ginny said,

    That looks a lot like our coop. We made it moveable, but it is now permanently stationed with a yard. Good job! :-D

  3. Clair Schwan of Frugal Living Freedom said,

    Good ideas. I hadn’t thought about making the tractor a permanent place for the hens, but it makes perfect sense. I suppose the water supply will hang from the bottom of the “loft”.

    I’m building something similar, except out of metal tubing and chain link fencing. We have foxes during the day and coyotes at night, so that requires heavy gauge metal fencing for protection. Dogs can chew through chicken wire and welded wire in no time.

    Since I am using standard fence rail stock, the tractor will turn out to be rather large, about 10 by 20. I’ll put wheels on it that can be raised or lowered easily so the whole thing will move. It will also incorporate shade cloth.

    Whether it’s made out of wood or steel, it will have to be cross braced well to allow it to be pushed or pulled without excessive strain on the structure.

    Good luck with your project. I like the design, and will likely incorporate some of your ideas into my work in progress.

    Clair

  4. doulamuse said,

    You are well on your way to having your chicken ark finished! Great job.

Leave a Reply

