Wood stove cookery

12/12/2008 at 7:07 am (food, thoughts)

I can’t explain it. But food tastes better when cooked on the wood stove.

People will say that I’m being sentimental or some such, but it is absolutely true.

Noel has been cooking my morning oatmeal on the stove for the past couple weeks. But a couple days back it was warm enough that we didn’t need to start a fire so she cooked my breakfast on our electric burner.

I could barely choke it down I kid you not. There is some difference.

And I think that maybe it has something to do with the whole slow food thing.

It takes longer to cook on the wood stove. And I think that that makes all the difference.

What have we lost food-wise in our ever constant quest for now now NOW!

4 Comments

  1. mrsabbott said,

    You know, I think that food cooked on a grill tastes better. One of my favorite meals is to wrap some veggies and morningstar farms “chicken” strips in foil with some seasoning and butter and you can cook it over a campfire or on a grill and it is sooooo good! But, I do sometimes make it in the oven, which is still good but it just doesn’t have quite the same taste! I don’t know why..

  2. Sunshine said,

    You really brought it home with that last sentence- Oops! Gotta run! My microwave just beeped letting me know my dinner’s ready!! :D
    I joke, I joke…

  3. Clair Schwan of Frugal Living Freedom said,

    Try this experiment. Cook three pieces of corn on-the-cob; one in the microwave, one in boiling water, and then one on the grill still wrapped in the husk. Each will have a unique flavor.

    I love to carmelize the corn on the grill, but a boiling water bath is also a good way to cook it for nice flavor. Anything beats the microwave.

    Having a wood stove to cook on is a great backup in the event of a power outage. I used to cook on the wood stove in the kitchen until I replaced it with a fireplace insert. We still heat up water and items in small pots with the limited space on the insert.

    Clair

  4. doulamuse said,

    I couldn’t agree more! In my ‘dream home’ I’ll have a wood fired cookstove and a brick artisnal oven for breads.
    Many years ago I saw a dual fuel cookstove, wood fired and gas so in the hot months you could cook w/the gas, and the cold, well wood of course! I would love to have one of those!

Leave a Reply

