A Good Day

12/19/2008 at 5:25 pm (uncategorized)

Today has been a very good day.

The weather was nicer, sunny somewhere in the 50s with light wind.

Last night a pretty decent wind coupled with above-freezing temperatures melted all the snow so the roads were clear.

Since it was so nice, and since it is supposed to turn ugly again in the next few days I asked Noel if she wanted to celebrate my birthday a couple days early with me (yes, I turn 30 in a couple days, blah).

So she rode to work with me this morning and then went to a friend’s house a couple blocks away while I did my job.

Then we rode to a Mexican restaurant we like but don’t go to very often because it’s on the other side of town.

After that we went to the bike shop which was nearby and I picked up one of those miniature tire pumps that mounts to your frame. I’ve always been worried that I’d get a flat while I was out and then have to walk the bike home, now I don’t have to worry.

Then we went by a local shop and we picked up some lavender massage oil. I’ve had this crick in my shoulder that’s been driving me nuts all week, and we were out of oil. So hopefully now Noel can help me remedy that crick tonight!

Then we rode home. When we got home I gave my bike a good shower. All the crud from the roads the last couple days will really do a number on a bicycle. After that I lubricated the bike’s chain. If you ride a bike and have never lubed the chain, you have no idea how much a difference it can make in the comfort of your ride. I really ought to do it more often.

Then I went back and fooled around with one of the garden plots some. This past year I was running an experiment. Early last spring, I made a 4-foot-by-4-foot frame out of 2x4s. Then I cut a thin piece of plywood to match the 4×4. I put the plywood down on top of the grass and set the 2×4 frame on top of it.

The idea was to kill the grass and make a workable garden bed with no digging. It’s been sitting there all year. So today I took the plywood off and this is what I found:

gardensquare1All the grass is dead. There is a thick mat of what I am assuming are roots. But the earth is nice and loose. I know the bugs and worms have been working on this soil all year because I peeked a couple times.

Then I took and filled the frame with all the leaves we’ve collected. All I have to say is that if you pay someone to haul off your leaves, you are throwing money away. Anyway, now I’ll let that sit all winter and I’ll try to plant right into what’s left of the leaf matter come this spring. We’ll see what happens.

About this time Noel informs me that the chickens are starving. So I got them a couple scoops of food and they went crazy over it.

They really were hungry!

After that I decided that I was going to buy them a larger feeder, so we hopped back on the bicycles and headed to Orscheln.

We got to Orscheln and found they did not have the feeder that I wanted to buy. But the feeder the girls have is just fine, so I’m glad I didn’t spend the money.

Now we’re back at home and I am tired! I’m sitting here with a good fire going in the stove. Noel is roasting herself some marshmellows in the fire. The animals are sprawled out on either side of the stove, they were sharing a blanket earlier which is very cute and not something they usually do.

Anyway, looking forward to a quiet evening. Going to listen to another of the Godly Home tapes later. Also going to enjoy a cup of hot cocoa later too.

Till next time!

6 Comments

  1. Ginny said,

    You can use any kind of container for a feeder or even just put the food on the ground, if it is dry. You really don’t need a fancy “feeder”, they will figure out what to do with it no matter what it is in. ;-) I don’t use a feeder at all during the summer and fall. Only when it is really cold and snowy or rainy. Then I keep the feeder under the coop in a dry spot and put a little old bread pan of food up inside the coop. Sometimes I just throw the food around on the floor up inside the coop, too. Then they will stir up the bedding for me. :-D When it got cold, we piled up straw bales along the west and north sides of the coop to cut the wind. They seem to like it.

  2. Nick Wright said,

    Yeah, sometimes I’ll just throw the feed on the ground too. Sometimes I just get the strangest ideas in my head (have to buy a feeder)!

    How much food do you feed and how many birds? If you don’t mind me asking.

  3. mrsabbott said,

    Happy 30th Birthday!! :) Sounds like a wonderful day! Your garden plot looks good!! I imagine you will have quite the harvest next summer! BTW.. tell Noel that the potato that Grace planted in the back yard has sprouted and seems to be doing well! :)

  4. Ginny said,

    Well, when it is cold, they need more food to keep warm and to continue laying. I have five hens and a rooster, Buff Orpingtons, and I have been giving them between three and four quarts of feed a day, plus they have a large yard and they get kitchen scraps. During the summer, I give them about two quarts and sprinkle it all through the yard.

    • Nick Wright said,

      Oh wow, I’ve definitely been under feeding my birds then. I give between 3 and 4 quarts a day! Well, then again mine aren’t quite full grown yet either. I’ll start making more available to them though.

  5. Danita said,

    What you are doing with your garden beds is similar to how we garden now that my husband is disabled. We use methods similar to what is described in the book Lasagna Gardening, which tells different ways of layering various materials to create beds. It works great and all the materials we use we get for nothing. :)

Leave a Reply

