Fear

01/18/2009 at 7:32 pm (bible)

After a couple weeks without the internet I can safely say that I’m not missing it all that much.

I’ve been poking around the last couple days, and quite a bit of what I see boils down to one thing … fear.

And a lot of it is from folks who call themselves Christians.

This is interesting to me because two of the Charity tapes we’ve listened to in the past week had to do with fear.

Here are a couple Bible verses:

The LORD is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me? – Psalm 118:6

For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. – 2 Timothy 1:7

We are not to be fearful. In fact we are given the command to rejoice always!

Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice. – Philippians 4:4

Most folks probably don’t give much thought to the seriousness of fearfulness, I among them. Then I came across this verse:

But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death. – Revelation 21:8

It is a very sobering thought to me to realize that God puts fearfulness on the same level as murder and all manner of ungodliness.

4 Comments

  1. Ginny said,

    Yes, that IS very sobering. It is wise to remember, though, that we are all prone to that. Humbling ourselves to the point of remembering our weakness and tendency to sins like fear helps to keep us on our toes, watching out for these and on our knees to the One who can deliver us from them. Thanks for this reminder.

    Glad to see you back. :-D

  2. Clair Schwan of Frugal Living Freedom said,

    I find it curious indeed that what we are most fearful of is simply being scared. Whether it’s the Internet or the “news” or just the talk among friends and neighbors, it seems most people are interested in immersing themselves in fear.

    On a recent trip to Florida to visit with family, a friend of my parents discovered that I don’t watch TV at all, I don’t subscribe to newspapers, and I only get a few “off the beaten track” magazines that aren’t focused on fear, but self-reliance.

    She asked me how I got my news, and I said I didn’t get any because it’s rarely anything I can use; it’s mostly gossip and people trying to tell me what to be afraid of. And, I refuse to be afraid.

    She accused me of sticking my head in the sand, and I simply told her that my life is wonderful because I press on in a deliberate manner without fear. I plan, I prepare, and I guard against a list of possible events, but I don’t let fear dictate my life of freedom and abundance.

    We should be encouraging one another and helping one another through life. There is no time to wallow in fear, and there is no benefit from doing so.

    Clair

  3. Sunshine said,

    Wow- what an awesome post!! I’m glad you wrote this, thank you.

  4. ka said,

    Can anyone point me to some more things to read about God and the sine of fear?

    I really appreciate this post-it gives hope and strength

Leave a Reply

