February Update

03/02/2009 at 9:19 pm (uncategorized)

We lost Myrple. Her feet weren’t getting any better, so we put her out of her misery.

We gave our red hens to a dear friend in Cherryvale. It’s just the four black ones now.

Then, Luna died. Her death was unexpected. We all miss her very much.

But we’re still plugging along. One day at a time. I check on the chickens, give them some freshly plucked grass to eat. A few handfuls of cracked corn, which they love and go crazy for.

Daily loads of laundry are done around here to keep up with the load. I often chuckle when I see cars drive by and watch me hanging up the laundry in the snow or watch me take down “boards” of freeze dried clothing that are as stiff as plywood. I wonder what is going through their minds and if they are laughing too. I hope I’ve given them something to smile at.

One of our big exciting things that happened is getting our garden spot plowed and tilled. We had seen the neighbor’s get theirs done and decided we wanted to have a bigger area than we thought. I’m planning on taking over the square beds and planting some herbs both medicinal and culinary and flowers, all edible if I can.

We had the area tilled up that we used the first year we were here. I’m so excited about all that we’re going to grow and this year we’ll be able to tackle the weeds better since Nick will be able to help. We fixed our gate that leads to the back too, so no more stray dogs getting into the garden. Milo is smart. He knows he’s not allowed in the garden area and walks along the border of it.

The winter blues have been hitting us both hard this year but looks like spring is around the corner. It seems like yesterday we were starting the new year and now it’s already March! Wow! Time flies. This Friday will mark the day that Nick and I married 12 years ago. 12 years! I remember when I would hear about someone being married for 10 years and thought that was a long time! Funny how things change as you get older.

Twelve years ago I married my best friend and I’m still in love with him as the day we met. Well meaning friends and family thought we wouldn’t survive a month let alone a year. And here we are, still going strong. I wonder what they think now?

Life is good.

Until next time…

1 Comment

  1. Ginny said,

    I’m so sorry to hear about Luna. But, glad to see another post.

Leave a Reply

