Granola

03/02/2009 at 9:52 pm (food)

We enjoy eating granola for breakfast. I make it in small batches in my toaster oven and it lasts a few days. We like this recipe because it’s easy to make.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

For a half batch (the size I make), melt 1/4 cup butter plus one Tablespoon with 1/4 cup honey in saucepan on low, stir so it doesn’t burn. Add 1/4 cup flax seed, 1/3 cup raisins, and a handful of nuts, if you prefer, and stir well to coat all ingredients. I bake it in a glass pan that looks like a miniature 9X13 pan that fits in my toaster oven. I dump 2 cups of oats in that pan and pour the wet ingredients on top of that to save myself from dirtying another pan. Give it a few stirs to mix everything together and bake for 10 minutes. Take it out, stir it together, and bake an additional 5 minutes. Let cool, and stir it occasionally, otherwise, you’ll have that granola stuck in the pan! When it’s cool and dry, I store it in a canning jar.granola

3 Comments

  1. Danita said,

    This sounds great, Noel! I’ll have to hunt up some gluten-fre oats and try it with craisins and almonds! Thanks for the recipe!

  2. brenda said,

    I might mention that it would be better to add the flax seeds after it’s baked since heat does something to the seeds that you don’t want to happen. I can’t remember if it kills the enzymes or what it is. The recipe sounds good!

  3. Nick David Wright said,

    Noel writes-I’m sure the enzymes are killed but I can’t think of any way to get them to stick to the mixture. Even when I add them with the oats, they still fall off. I plan to try a dehydrator recipe next, so I don’t have to heat up the oven this summer.

Leave a Reply

