Chopping wood

09/17/2008 at 6:32 pm (work)

I spent all morning and a bit of the afternoon chopping wood. I chop wood using only an axe and sometimes a small Amish-made wooden bucksaw.

Last year I found a large dead-fallen blackjack oak tree on the land where we have permission to cut wood. Several times last winter I went out and we cut up the tops and branches. About the time we got to the trunk, the weather started getting nicer and we didn’t need to cut any more wood.

Well now that our weather is turning cooler I figured it was about time to start cutting wood again. I’d been dreaming of finishing up this tree all summer, so I was happy to find that the land owner hadn’t found it and cut it up for himself! ;)

We got to the land about 9 a.m. and we left at 1:30 p.m. The log in the photo is the first of two logs that I cut out of the trunk of the tree. Cutting wood with an axe is hard work, and I am tired!

Permalink Leave a Comment