Common sense

09/28/2008 at 9:44 pm (thoughts)

I’ve overheard a lot of folks recently in my store talking about the troubles we’re facing in this country.

Today some older fellow was chatting near to where I was working about the subject. I kept hearing remarks along the lines of young folks lacking “common sense.” I suppose he was blaming the current troubles on that. He said something about “if only common sense was at the reins.”

And I have to admit that I got a bit upset when I heard that.

I wanted to explain to him that it was gravity that is now “at the reins,” but that it was his generation that pushed the cart off the cliff!

Permalink Leave a Comment

thoughts and tea

09/28/2008 at 2:40 pm (herbs, thoughts)

I bought some nettle a few years back but couldn’t ever find a way to make it taste good until today. I tried a new recipe that I found going through some old papers. Sweetened with a bit of raw sugar and just the right temperature it is very delicious!

I heard a radio program the other night after Nick and I were talking about the way things are in the world today. I don’t remember any of the program other than a verse that was mentioned. I really liked it and found myself encouraged reading it over and over. So, I thought I’d share it here:

Habakkuk 3:17

17Although the fig tree shall not blossom, neither shall fruit be in the vines; the labour of the olive shall fail, and the fields shall yield no meat; the flock shall be cut off from the fold, and there shall be no herd in the stalls:

18Yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will joy in the God of my salvation.

No matter what happens from here on out, God is with us. There is no reason to fear or worry with Him by our side.

Permalink Leave a Comment